What is ITIL

ITIL, which stands for Information Technology Infrastructure Library, is a set of best practices for IT service management (ITSM). It provides a framework for organizations to design, deliver, manage, and improve IT services aligned with business needs and objectives.

ITIL was originally developed by the UK Government’s Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency (CCTA) in the 1980s as a collection of books documenting best practices in IT service management. Over time, ITIL has evolved into a globally recognized framework adopted by organizations worldwide.

Key components of ITIL include:

  1. Service Lifecycle: ITIL defines IT services in terms of a service lifecycle consisting of five stages:
  • Service Strategy
  • Service Design
  • Service Transition
  • Service Operation
  • Continual Service Improvement
  1. Service Management Processes: ITIL outlines various processes and functions involved in managing IT services throughout their lifecycle, including:
  • Incident Management
  • Problem Management
  • Change Management
  • Release Management
  • Configuration Management
  • Service Level Management
  • IT Service Continuity Management
  • Capacity Management
  • Availability Management
  • Financial Management for IT Services
  1. Service Catalog: ITIL emphasizes the importance of maintaining a service catalog that provides a comprehensive list of IT services offered to customers, along with relevant details such as service descriptions, service levels, pricing, and dependencies.

  1. Roles and Responsibilities: ITIL defines roles and responsibilities within IT service management processes, including service owners, process owners, service desk staff, incident managers, change managers, and others.

  1. Metrics and Key Performance Indicators (KPIs): ITIL encourages organizations to establish metrics and KPIs to measure the performance and effectiveness of IT service management processes and identify areas for improvement.

  1. Continual Service Improvement (CSI): ITIL promotes a culture of continual improvement, where organizations regularly assess their IT services, processes, and performance to identify opportunities for enhancement and optimization.

ITIL certifications are available for individuals seeking to demonstrate their knowledge and expertise in IT service management based on the ITIL framework. The ITIL certification scheme includes various levels, such as Foundation, Practitioner, Intermediate (in multiple lifecycle and capability modules), Expert, and Master.

Overall, ITIL provides a structured and holistic approach to managing IT services, enabling organizations to align their IT capabilities with business needs, improve service quality, optimize resource utilization, and enhance customer satisfaction.


The ITIL (Information Technology Infrastructure Library) certification scheme offers a structured pathway for individuals to demonstrate their knowledge and proficiency in IT service management based on the ITIL framework. As of my last update, the ITIL certification scheme includes the following levels and certifications:

  1. ITIL Foundation: This entry-level certification provides a basic understanding of key concepts, terminology, and principles of IT service management based on the ITIL framework. It is suitable for individuals who are new to ITIL or working in roles related to IT service delivery.

  1. ITIL 4 Managing Professional (MP): The ITIL 4 Managing Professional designation is aimed at IT practitioners working in IT service management roles. It consists of four modules:
  • ITIL 4 Specialist: Create, Deliver, and Support
  • ITIL 4 Specialist: Drive Stakeholder Value
  • ITIL 4 Specialist: High Velocity IT
  • ITIL 4 Strategist: Direct, Plan, and Improve
  1. ITIL 4 Strategic Leader (SL): The ITIL 4 Strategic Leader designation is aimed at IT and business leaders who play a strategic role in shaping and driving IT-enabled business initiatives. It consists of two modules:
  • ITIL 4 Strategist: Direct, Plan, and Improve
  • ITIL 4 Leader: Digital and IT Strategy
  1. ITIL Master: The ITIL Master certification is the highest level of ITIL certification and demonstrates the ability to apply ITIL principles and practices in real-world scenarios. To achieve the ITIL Master certification, candidates must demonstrate their practical experience and expertise in IT service management through a written submission and an interview process.

It’s important to note that ITIL 4, the latest version of the ITIL framework, introduces a new certification scheme aligned with modern IT practices and methodologies, including Agile, DevOps, and Lean. The ITIL 4 certification scheme focuses on providing a holistic approach to IT service management that integrates with contemporary ways of working and delivering value to organizations.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *